INMA confirms 13 executives to governing board of directors

INMA Annual Business Meeting

Marcelo Benez, Executive Commercial Director, Folha de S.Paulo, Brazil

The International News Media Association today confirmed 13 executives to its governing Board of Directors for terms taking effect June 1. The election and confirmation of Board members were made during Annual Business Meeting, which was held virtually via Zoom.

Elected to Board terms were:

Marcelo Benez, Executive Commercial Director, Folha de S.Paulo, Brazil

John Boynton, CEO, Torstar, Canada

Carsten Erdmann, Editor-in-Chief Digital, Funke Media, Germany

Frederic Kachar, CEO, Infoglobo, Brazil

Frank Mahlberg, Managing Director Bild Media Group, Axel Springer, Germany

Martha Ortiz, Chief Editor, El Colombiano, Colombia

Pam Siddall, Co-President, Advance Local, United States

Rika Swart, CEO, Media24 Newspapers, South Africa

Anthony Tan, Deputy CEO, Singapore Press Holdings

Also at the Annual Business Meeting, division boards notified members of presidential appointments. Division boards look after the interests of INMA members in their regions, creating events and meet-ups to serve regional needs. Division board presidents serve on the INMA Board of Directors. These include:

Latin America Division: Luis García, CEO and General Manager, Los Andes/Grupo Clarín, Argentina

North America Division: Ann Poe, Senior Director of Digital Consumer Revenue, Advance Local, United States

South Asia Division: Pawan Agarwal, Deputy Managing Director, Dainik Bhaskar, India

Meanwhile, the chair of a new Young Professionals Committee will be elevated to the INMA Board of Directors. The committee chair for the next year is Katharina Neubert, director membership strategy of Business Insider. The committee governs a Young Professionals Initiative for INMA, set up to engage rising stars of news media companies under the age of 30.

During the Annual Business Meeting, INMA President Damian Eales of News Corp Australia recognised six executives departing the Board. They include:

Brooke Christofferson, formerly of Gannett, as North America Division President.

Kirk Davis, formerly of Gatehouse Media.

Michael Doorly, formerly of Independent News & Media.

Griet Ducatteeuw, formerly of Mediahuis.

Pit Gottschalk of Pit’ch and Sport1.

Rajiv Verma, formerly of HT Media, as South Asia Division President.

Eales praised their service to INMA and made a special commendation for Gottschalk, who served nine years on the INMA Board of Directors, a rarity in the association’s 90-year history.

The Board of Directors is the governing fiduciary body of INMA and meets at least monthly via video to discuss, guide, and approve association matters.

The International News Media Association (INMA) is a global community of market-leading news media companies reinventing how they engage audiences and grow revenue in a multi-platform environment. The INMA community consists of more than 12,000 members at 800+ news media companies in 70 countries. Celebrating its 90th anniversary, INMA is the news media industry’s foremost ideas-sharing network with members connected via conferences, reports, Webinars, virtual meetings, and an unparalleled archive of best practices.

Indian Printer and Publisher started in April 1979 enters its 43rd year as a monthly magazine in print. Our web platform which started in 1998 is now in its 24th year. We have a wide readership in both print and on the web but we need continuous financial support from our readers to keep evolving and growing. Please subscribe to our website and our eZines.

Subscribe Now


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here