INMA announces categories for 2021 Global Media Awards

New categories and entries open on 1 November 2020

A total of 98 news media companies entered in the INMA 2020 Global Media Awards competition

DALLAS (22 September 2020) – The International News Media Association (INMA) today announced categories for the 2021 Global Media Awards competition that will reward outstanding achievement in growing the brand, audience, and revenue of news companies.

A Global Media Awards competition Web site has been launched at
The competition will open for entry submissions on 1 November 2020, with a deadline to submit entries on 29 January 2021.

INMA announced 20 categories for the 2021 competition, including nine that are new – with heavy emphasis on subscriptions and data. INMA also unveiled an expansion of the competition to include multi-brand media groups for the first time.

The categories are

News Brands
Best Brand Awareness Campaign

Best Public Relations or Community Service Campaign

Best Use of an Event to Build a News Brand

Best Idea to Encourage Reader Engagement

Media Platforms
Best Use of Print

Best Use of Video

Best Use of Audio

Best Use of Social Media

Best Initiative to Register Users (new)

Best Initiative to Acquire Subscribers (new)

Best Initiative to Retain Subscribers (new)

Best Subscription Niche Product (new)

Business Development
Best Idea to Grow Advertising Sales

Best Execution of Native Advertising

Best Digital Commerce Initiative (new)

Best Product and Tech Innovation

Data and Insights
Best Use of Data to Drive Subscriptions, Content, or Product Design (new)

Best Use of Data to Drive Advertising (new)

Best Use of Data to Automate or Personalise (new)

Best Data Dashboard (new)
Media companies may submit entries, based on the emanation of the work, in one of three segments:
National brands

Regional brands


Adding media groups is a major expansion of the competition for 2021 and the first time INMA has rewarded groups. (Look here to see where your company fits within INMA segments.)

“INMA is excited to put new emphasis on subscription and data categories to reflect the passion behind the subjects in the news industry,” said Earl J. Wilkinson, executive director and CEO. “We also want to spotlight the fantastic work by central offices and shared-service operations at media groups. This is a major expansion of the Global Media Awards, and we hope it resonates with media companies worldwide.”

INMA officials acknowledged that the Covid-19 crisis will have an impact on the Global Media Awards competition, and category selections are designed in 2021 to reflect that impact. Said Wilkinson: “While INMA has rewarded excellence in news media since 1937, no year quite compares to the past 12 months of a global pandemic that has profoundly impacted the media business. INMA aspires to capture the progress of the news industry’s transformation and reinvention through this crisis.”

The International News Media Association (INMA) is a global community of market-leading news media companies reinventing how they engage audiences and grow revenue in a multi-platform environment. The INMA community consists of more than 15,000 members at 850+ news media companies in 71 countries, representing tens of thousands of news brands. Celebrating its 90th anniversary, INMA is the news media industry’s foremost ideas-sharing network with members connected via conferences, reports, Webinars, virtual meetings, awards competitions, and an unparalleled archive of best practices.

The Covid-19 pandemic led to the country-wide lockdown on 25 March 2020. It will be two years tomorrow as I write this. What have we learned in this time? Maybe the meaning of resilience since small companies like us have had to rely on our resources and the forbearance of our employees as we have struggled to produce our trade platforms.

The print and packaging industries have been fortunate, although the commercial printing industry is still to recover. We have learned more about the digital transformation that affects commercial printing and packaging. Ultimately digital will help print grow in a country where we are still far behind in our paper and print consumption and where digital is a leapfrog technology that will only increase the demand for print in the foreseeable future.

Web analytics show that we now have readership in North America and Europe amongst the 90 countries where our five platforms reach. Our traffic which more than doubled in 2020, has at times gone up by another 50% in 2021. And advertising which had fallen to pieces in 2020 and 2021, has started its return since January 2022.

As the economy approaches real growth with unevenness and shortages a given, we are looking forward to the PrintPack India exhibition in Greater Noida. We are again appointed to produce the Show Daily on all five days of the show from 26 to 30 May 2022.

It is the right time to support our high-impact reporting and authoritative and technical information with some of the best correspondents in the industry. Readers can power Indian Printer and Publisher’s balanced industry journalism and help sustain us by subscribing.

– Naresh Khanna

Subscribe Now


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here