Media Expo unveils the jury for Media Expo Excellence Awards

MEA 2020 at Bombay Exhibition Center, Mumbai

The jury for Media Expo Excellence Awards 2020
The jury for Media Expo Excellence Awards 2020

After much anticipation, Media Expo reveals its top-of-the-league jury panel for the Media Expo Excellence Awards 2020 KS Chakravarthy and KV Sridhar, creative leaders from mainline advertising who will share the stage on the 2020 Award Jury Panel.

With new capabilities constantly emerging in the advertising segment, brands and agencies worldwide are seamlessly using unique and appealing ad campaigns for captivating target audiences by influencing new trends. Going beyond conventional ad campaigns, there are those in the industry who have taken this power of omnichannel impact to the next level. The first edition of Media Expo Excellence Awards (MEA) 2020 by Media Expo will recognize pioneers of the creative and successful brand campaigns from the indoor, outdoor advertising and signage industry.

With a fair and transparent evaluation process set in place, the Media Expo Excellence Awards 2020 will be officially tabulated by Ernst and Young (EY). Judging the nominations for the awards will be a highly-accomplished and industry-experienced jury panel with some big names under the hood such as KS Chakravarthy, KV Sridhar, Ritesh Ghosal, and Rahul Puri.

Chakravarthy is a globally renowned creative leader with successful stints as the chief creative officer of Leo Burnett, Rediffusion Y&R and FCB Ulka. He currently serves as the co-founder and chief creative officer at Tidal7.

Sridhar is a widely celebrated ad guru and a creative leader with tons of accomplishments under his belt. He has brilliantly served SapientNitro, Leo Burnett, and Lowe Lintas, as their chief creative officer, and now serves the role of his self-founded marketing and advertising agency, HyperCollective.

Ghosal, the chief of marketing at Croma- Infiniti Retail Ltd, has spent more than 10 years in leadership roles across MNCs and Indian conglomerates in the areas of brand management, advertising, consumer insight, and general management.

Puri is the chief executive officer and chief editor of the Agency Reporter. He is also known for co-founding the marketing platform, Buzzoka and Social Gabbar, a comprehensive B2C platform for content creators.

2023 promises an interesting ride for print in India

Indian Printer and Publisher founded in 1979 is the oldest B2B trade publication in the multi-platform and multi-channel IPPGroup. While the print and packaging industries have been resilient in the past 33 months since the pandemic lockdown of 25 March 2020, the commercial printing and newspaper industries have yet to recover their pre-Covid trajectory.

The fragmented commercial printing industry faces substantial challenges as does the newspaper industry. While digital short-run printing and the signage industry seem to be recovering a bit faster, ultimately their growth will also be moderated by the progress of the overall economy. On the other hand book printing exports are doing well but they too face several supply-chain and logistics challenges.

The price of publication papers including newsprint has been high in the past year while availability is diminished by several mills shutting down their publication paper and newsprint machines in the past four years. Indian paper mills are also exporting many types of paper and have raised prices for Indian printers. To some extent, this has helped in the recovery of the digital printing industry with its on-demand short-run and low-wastage paradigm.

Ultimately digital print and other digital channels will help print grow in a country where we are still far behind in our paper and print consumption and where digital is a leapfrog technology that will only increase the demand for print in the foreseeable future. For instance, there is no alternative to a rise in textbook consumption but this segment will only reach normality in the next financial year beginning on 1 April 2023.

Thus while the new normal is a moving target and many commercial printers look to diversification, we believe that our target audiences may shift and change. Like them, we will also have to adapt with agility to keep up with their business and technical information needs.

Our 2023 media kit is ready, and it is the right time to take stock and reconnect with your potential markets and customers. Print is the glue for the growth of liberal education, new industry, and an emerging economy. We seek your participation in what promises to be an interesting ride.

– Naresh Khanna

Subscribe Now


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here