WAN-IFRA Print Innovation Awards 2018 winners announced


The World Printers Forum, the print community of the World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers (WAN-IFRA), announced the winners of the first Print Innovation Awards. The prize for innovations in newspapers and magazines will be presented on the first exhibition day of the IFRA World Publishing Expo, 9 October 2018, in Berlin.

The Print Innovation Awards competition honors the most innovative print products and services worldwide. The competition is open to newspaper and magazine publishers as well as advertisers or advertising agencies. For the first edition, 54 organizations from 19 countries participated in the competition. The jury, composed of the World Printers Forum Board members, evaluated the entries and awarded gold, silver and bronze prizes in six categories.

Judges scored each entry based on the outlined criteria. All jury scores were combined to create an overall score for each entry. The scores were then totaled and the highest scoring entries determined the category winners. Thje judging criteria were innovation, creativity, excellence, customer relevancy and value.

The fifteen winners awarded in seven different categories include Aftenposten (Norway), Arab News (UK), Bennett Coleman and Co, Times Group (India), Diari ARA (Spain), El Tiempo (Colombia), Funke Mediengruppe (Germany), Jang Media Group (Pakistan), Prayukti Publications (India), Presse-Druck- und Verlags-GmbH (Germany), Straubinger Tagblatt/Landshuter Zeitung (Germany), Südkurier (Germany), Vacharaphol Co, Thairath Newspaper (Thailand), Vaduzer Medienhaus (Liechtenstein), VRM (Germany), WASPADA Press Publishing (Indonesia)

Gold, silver and bronze winners will be honored on stage at the Networking Night of IFRA World Publishing Expo 2018 in Berlin, 9 October 2018.

The winners of Advertising Innovation were Ediciones especiales con publicidad no convencional en la Revista DONJUAN, Casa Editorial EL TIEMPO, Bogotá, Colombia; En el Blanco, Formatos de alto impacto , Casa Editorial EL TIEMPO, Bogotá, Colombia and Jang VR, Jang Media Group, Karachi, Pakistan. In the Product Innovation category, Plantation through Newspaper, Bennett Coleman and Co. Ltd., Mumbai, India; Seamless Panorama with Bookmark, Bennett Coleman and Co. Ltd., Mumbai, India and Thairath AR, Vacharaphol Co., Ltd., Bangkok, Thailand were adjudged as winners.

Karriergeil, Sudkurier GmbH Konstanz, Germany; 4hundertdreizehn – Ein Inhalt, vier Gesichter – Zeitungs- Attraktivitätsoffensive, Presse-Druck- und Verlags-GmbH Augsburg, Germany and Prayukti Publications Private Limited, Noida, India were awarded in the New Products category. In Redesigned Products category, Arab News Redesign, Arab News, London, UK; REDISEÑO EL TIEMPO, Casa Editorial EL TIEMPO, Bogotá, Colombia and REDISEÑO PORTAFOLIO, Casa Editorial EL TIEMPO, Bogotá, Colombia were declared winners.

A Comic-Book Newspaper, Diari ARA, Barcelona, Spain; An artist’s newspaper, Diari ARA, Barcelona, Spain and Liechtensteiner Frauenland, Vaduzer Medienhaus AG Vaduz, Liechtenstein were awarded in the Special Editions category. In products for young readers category, Aftenposten Junior, Aftenposten, Oslo, Norway; Freistunde – a print brand for teenagers, Mediengruppe Straubinger, Tagblatt/Landshuter Zeitung, Straubing, Germany and Kruschel – Newspaper for Kids, VRM, Mainz, Germany were awarded.

For Business Innovation – Special Mention category, the winners were; SMARTPAPER ONE, Funke Mediengruppe, Essen, Germany; WASPADA U-IMAGING Print Innovation, WASPADA Press Publishing, Ltd., Medan, Indonesia were declared winners.

2023 promises an interesting ride for print in India

Indian Printer and Publisher founded in 1979 is the oldest B2B trade publication in the multi-platform and multi-channel IPPGroup. While the print and packaging industries have been resilient in the past 33 months since the pandemic lockdown of 25 March 2020, the commercial printing and newspaper industries have yet to recover their pre-Covid trajectory.

The fragmented commercial printing industry faces substantial challenges as does the newspaper industry. While digital short-run printing and the signage industry seem to be recovering a bit faster, ultimately their growth will also be moderated by the progress of the overall economy. On the other hand book printing exports are doing well but they too face several supply-chain and logistics challenges.

The price of publication papers including newsprint has been high in the past year while availability is diminished by several mills shutting down their publication paper and newsprint machines in the past four years. Indian paper mills are also exporting many types of paper and have raised prices for Indian printers. To some extent, this has helped in the recovery of the digital printing industry with its on-demand short-run and low-wastage paradigm.

Ultimately digital print and other digital channels will help print grow in a country where we are still far behind in our paper and print consumption and where digital is a leapfrog technology that will only increase the demand for print in the foreseeable future. For instance, there is no alternative to a rise in textbook consumption but this segment will only reach normality in the next financial year beginning on 1 April 2023.

Thus while the new normal is a moving target and many commercial printers look to diversification, we believe that our target audiences may shift and change. Like them, we will also have to adapt with agility to keep up with their business and technical information needs.

Our 2023 media kit is ready, and it is the right time to take stock and reconnect with your potential markets and customers. Print is the glue for the growth of liberal education, new industry, and an emerging economy. We seek your participation in what promises to be an interesting ride.

– Naresh Khanna

Subscribe Now


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here