Shantanu Rau Choudhury wins Book Editor of the Year Award


The Publishing Next Awards recognize the work of professionals in the publishing industry. The newly introduced Editor of the Year Award was won by Shantanu Rau Choudhury of Harper Collins, while Simar Puneet Aleph Books was declared runner up. The winners were presented with a trophy while the runners up will each receive a certificate.
The Cover Design of the Year (English) award, presented to a book designer, was won by Bena Sareen for the cover she designed for How I Became a Tree Aleph Book Co, while Harshad Marathe was runner up for his cover of Mohanaswamy HarperCollins India. In the corresponding category, Cover Design of the Year (Indian Languages), Mugdha Sadhwani won the Award for her cover design for Achanak Ek Kavita Yatra Books while Pooja Ahuja was declared runner up for her cover design for Akbar Rajkamal Prakashan.

Pratham Books was declared Publisher of the Year at the recently announced Publishing Next Industry Awards 2017. Niyogi Books came runner up in this category. The Awards, now in its 4th year, seek to recognize innovation and leadership of publishing professionals and others in the book trade.

This year several new categories were introduced, especially for Indian languages. While Invisible Libraries by Yoda Press was declared winner in the Printed Book of the Year (English) category, and Adhyathma Ramayanam Kilippattu by Palm Leaf Innovations won the Printed Book of the Year (Indian Language Category). The Gene  Allen Lane and Baaghbaan – Nindiya Chor Harper Hindi were runners up in these categories respectively.

In the children’s book categories, When I Grow Up I Want to be a Tiger (Speaking Tiger) and Muezza and Baby Jaan (Puffin Books) were winner and runners up respectively in the Children’s Book English category while Mujhe Ghar Mil Gaya, Mumbai Mobile Creches and Akal Aur Uske Baad, Eklavya Publications were winner and runners up respectively in the Children’s Book Indian Language category. In the Illustrated Book of the Year category, a category introduced for the first time this year, Rehearsing Freedom (Leftword Books) was the winner, while Taj Mahal: Multiple Narratives (Om Books) was declared runner up.

Indian Printer and Publisher started in April 1979 enters its 43rd year as a monthly magazine in print. Our web platform which started in 1998 is now in its 24th year. We have a wide readership in both print and on the web but we need continuous financial support from our readers to keep evolving and growing. Please subscribe to our website and our eZines.

Subscribe Now


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here