IBBY announces jury for 2024 Hans Christian Andersen Award

Awards to be announced on 6 March 2023 at Bologna Children’s Book Fair

Photo Annie Spratt on Unsplash

The International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) has announced a 10-member jury for the 2024 Hans Christian Andersen Award. IBBY is a non-profit organization that represents an international network of people from all over the world who are committed to bringing books and children together.

The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international distinction in the field of books for young people. Given every other year by IBBY, the awards recognize lifelong achievements and are given to a writer and an illustrator whose complete works have made an important and lasting contribution to children’s and youth literature.

The following 10 children’s book specialists were selected by the IBBY executive committee to serve as members of the 2024 Hans Christian Andersen Award Jury:

Evelyn Arizpe from Mexico/UK is a professor and researcher in children’s literature at the University of Glasgow.

Brenda Dales from the USA is an independent scholar and former assistant teaching professor in the Education Faculty at Miami University, Ohio.

Sabine Fuchs from Austria is a retired professor of children’s literature and didactics at the University College of Teacher Education, Styria.

Diana Laura Kovach from Argentina is a language and literature teacher in secondary schools and at the Teachers’ Training Institute, Buenos Aires.

Shereen Kreidieh from Lebanon is a publisher and part-time teacher at Haigazian University, Beirut.

Bettina Kümmerling-Meibauer from Germany is a professor in the German Department at the University of Tübingen.

Jaana Pesonen from Finland is a university lecturer in the Education Department of the University of Helsinki and researcher in children’s literature.

Tan Fengxia from China is a professor in the School of Literature at the Nanjing Normal University.

Pavle Učakar from Slovenia is a former art director of Mladinska Knjiga Publishing House, Ljubljana.

Morgane Vasta from France is a mediator specializing in children’s literature and a lecturer on novels for children and teenagers at the University of Sorbonne Paris Nord.

The jury will work under the guidance of president Anastasia Arkhipova. IBBY executive director Carolina Ballester is an ex officio jury member.

The 2024 Hans Christian Andersen Award nominees will be announced on 6 March 2023 at the Bologna Children’s Book Fair.

The Covid-19 pandemic led to the country-wide lockdown on 25 March 2020. It will be two years tomorrow as I write this. What have we learned in this time? Maybe the meaning of resilience since small companies like us have had to rely on our resources and the forbearance of our employees as we have struggled to produce our trade platforms.

The print and packaging industries have been fortunate, although the commercial printing industry is still to recover. We have learned more about the digital transformation that affects commercial printing and packaging. Ultimately digital will help print grow in a country where we are still far behind in our paper and print consumption and where digital is a leapfrog technology that will only increase the demand for print in the foreseeable future.

Web analytics show that we now have readership in North America and Europe amongst the 90 countries where our five platforms reach. Our traffic which more than doubled in 2020, has at times gone up by another 50% in 2021. And advertising which had fallen to pieces in 2020 and 2021, has started its return since January 2022.

As the economy approaches real growth with unevenness and shortages a given, we are looking forward to the PrintPack India exhibition in Greater Noida. We are again appointed to produce the Show Daily on all five days of the show from 26 to 30 May 2022.

It is the right time to support our high-impact reporting and authoritative and technical information with some of the best correspondents in the industry. Readers can power Indian Printer and Publisher’s balanced industry journalism and help sustain us by subscribing.

– Naresh Khanna

Subscribe Now


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here