Sahitya Akademi to confer translation prize to Pratibha Agarwal


The Sahitya Akademi Award is a literary honour conferred by the Sahitya Akademi. It is India’s National Academy of Letters to the authors of most outstanding books published in any of the 24 major languages of India that are recognized by the organization. It was established in 1954 and the award comprises of a plaque and a cash prize of Rs. 1,00,000. Additionally, the purpose of this award is to recognize and promote excellence in writing and also acknowledge new trends.

Awards for translations were instituted in 1989 at the instance of the then Prime Minister of India, PV Narasimha Rao. The Sahitya Akademi annually gives these awards for outstanding translations of major works in other languages into one of the 24 major Indian languages. Furthermore, this award comprises of a plaque and a cheque of Rs. 50,000.

This year, the Sahitya Akademi will confer the translation prize to Pratibha Agarwal, a Hindi writer and scholar. In addition, the event will take place at the Sahitya Akademi conference hall, New Delhi on Tuesday, 7 August 2018.